Loading prices…
🔥BULLISH

Coinbase launches 10x spot leverage for accredited traders

Gated to CFTC-defined Eligible Contract Participants with at least $5M-$10M in discretionary assets, the launch is institutional by design, not a retail feature.

Coinbase plans to roll out spot borrowing with up to 10x leverage over the coming weeks, letting eligible traders borrow against posted collateral to buy crypto on spot markets. The product is gated to Eligible Contract Participants, a CFTC-era category that requires at least $10 million in discretionary investments, or $5 million when used for risk management, locking out ordinary US retail traders. Eligible users will get up to 10x leverage on selected major assets and 5x on other supported names, with more than 15 tokens accepted as collateral. Margin lenders will be Coinbase Custody International Limited or Coinbase Credit, Inc., and the service is offered separately from Coinbase Financial Markets, the entity that handles US derivatives.

Why it matters

The launch is the second leg of a major product expansion. Coinbase completed the Deribit migration on Oct. 2, and the spot-margin product adds a distinct borrowing line for non-US eligible clients and US institutions that meet the ECP threshold. For US traders, the structure reinforces a two-tier setup: derivatives through Coinbase Financial Markets under US supervision, and a higher-leverage spot-borrowing product routed to non-US affiliates. Borrowing rates, collateral haircuts, and liquidation thresholds were not disclosed in the Oct. 7 announcement, leaving the actual cost of leverage and the trigger points for forced sales undefined.

Market impact

The product lands as Coinbase pushes to deepen liquidity for institutional and high-net-worth clients in markets where the offering is available. Spot margin typically widens the addressable flow for an exchange, since it lets traders deploy capital efficiently against held collateral, and a 10x ceiling on major assets is aggressive by industry norms. The risk sits on the user side. Coinbase warns that collateral can be liquidated without notice and losses can exceed the deposit, terms that mirror standard derivatives-margin disclosures but apply here to spot buying power. The US retail exclusion makes the launch a sentiment-positive signal for Coinbase's institutional trajectory without changing the calculus for US day traders.

Frequently asked questions

  1. What is Coinbase's new 10x spot leverage product?

    Coinbase is introducing spot borrowing that lets eligible traders borrow against posted collateral to buy crypto on spot markets at up to 10x leverage. Selected major assets qualify for the full 10x, while other supported names are limited to 5x.

  2. Why are US retail traders excluded from Coinbase's spot borrowing?

    The product is gated to Eligible Contract Participants, a CFTC-era category that excludes ordinary US retail. Coinbase routes the offering via Coinbase Custody International Limited or Coinbase Credit, Inc., separate from Coinbase Financial Markets, which handles US derivatives.

  3. What is an Eligible Contract Participant under CFTC rules?

    An ECP is a category defined under CFTC rules that generally requires at least $10 million in discretionary investments, or $5 million when used for risk management. The threshold places the new spot-borrowing product beyond ordinary US retail access.

  4. What assets can be used as collateral for Coinbase spot borrowing?

    Coinbase says traders can post more than 15 supported assets as collateral, with those holdings remaining on the platform. Borrowing rates, collateral haircuts, and liquidation thresholds were not disclosed in the Oct. 7 announcement.

  5. What are the risks of using Coinbase's 10x spot leverage?

    Coinbase warns that borrowed trading magnifies losses as well as gains, that collateral can be liquidated without notice, and that losses can exceed the initial deposit. Collateral stays on the platform but is not protected from a forced sale.

Source attribution
Aggregated from CryptoSlate · Verified · Last refreshed 53m ago
Open original →